7th Phytosanitary Export Consultation (INVITE ONLY) 29 - 30 July 2021

APSA will be hosting the 7th Phytosanitary Expert Consultation from the 29th – 30th of July 2021. Due to ongoing travel restrictions, this year’s meeting will be held online. The meeting is INVITE ONLY and attending will be representatives from National Plant Protection Organizations (NPPOs), representatives from seed associations, members of APSA, as well as representatives from key seed industry stakeholders.

Organized by APSA’s Standing Committee for International Trade and Quarantine (SC ITQ), the 2-day meeting will cover a number of important issues which includes; a summary from last year’s 6th Phytosanitary Expert Consultation, Standard and Trade Development Facility Project Proposal Grant (STDF-PPG), ePhyto Implementation from various NPPOs within the Asia Pacific Region, Systems Approach progress update by ISF, APPPC guidance document on seed and the Annex on Chili Seed and many more.

Please see below for full agenda.

Day 1: July 29, 2021 from 11.00 - 14.15 hrs (GMT+7)

TIME (GMT+7) AGENDA
10. 30 - 11.00

System start and particpants log-in

11.00 - 11.05

Welcome Remarks - Mr. Wichai Laocharoenpornkul, President, Asia Pacific Seed Alliance (APSA)

11.05 - 11.15

Actions Summary from the 6th Phytosanitary expert consultation - Dr. Kanokwan Chodchoey, Executive Director, Asia Pacific Seed Alliance (APSA)

11.15 - 11.45

Summary of questionnaire from Standard and Trade Development Facility Project Proposal Grant (STDF-PPG) and round table discussion

11.45 - 12.00

The status of ePhyto Implementation: example shared by NPPOs from South Korea and Sri Lanka

12.00 - 12.30

Round table discussion from NPPOs on the status of ePhyto Implementation, possibility to form case study

12.30 - 13.00
  • The new establishment of ISPM45 of third party authorization program by Dr. Ric Dunkle, American Seed Trade Association (ASTA)
  • Lab accreditation system : ToBRFV proficiency test process shared by Stephanie Bloem NAPPO secretariat
13.00 - 13.10

Roundtable discussion by NPPOs

13.10 - 13.20

Online coffee break

13.20 - 13.40

Systems Approach progress update by ISF - Dr Rose Souza Richards, ISF Systems Approach Working Group

13.40 - 13.50

Feedback from NPPOs

13.50 -14.00

Draft APPPC guidance document on seed and the Annex on Chili Seed: Progress update and way forward - Mr Prateep Arayakittipong, Standards Officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Thailand

14.00 - 14.15

Wrap Up & Closing Remarks- Dr. Kanokwan Chodchoey, Executive Director, APSA

 

Day 2: July 30, 2021

PPG Workshop for pilot countries

  • Time: 2 hours (Exact time to be informed)
  • Countries: 8 pilot countries (5 LMI countries – Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam) Bangladesh, Nepal, Philippines
  • Observer: NPPO from Australia, New Zealand and APPPC (Dr Yubak)

 

EVENT TIME

COUNTRIES TIME ZONE EVENT TIME
Pakistan

UTC +05:00

09.00 - 12.15
India, Sri Lanka

UTC +05:30

09.30 - 12.45
Nepal

UTC +05:45

09:45 - 13.00
Bangladesh, Krygyztan

UTC +06:00

10.00 - 13.15
Myanmar

UTC +06:30

10.30 - 13.45
Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam

UTC +07:00

11.00 - 14.15
China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong-China, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore

UTC +08:00

12.00 - 15.15
Japan, South Korea

UTC +09:00

13.00 - 16.15
Australia

UTC +11:00

14.00 - 17.15
New Zealand

UTC +13:00

16.00 - 19.15