Asian Solanaceous & Cucurbits Round Table 2020 - 2021

Even though COVID-19 has restricted our activities, APSA is determined as always to facilitate its members in the best way possible. Under the hood of APSA R&D Advisory Group, the Asian Solanaceous and Cucurbits Roundtable (ASCRT) will be arranged as a series of 'Expert Talk on Crop Improvement Webinars'. APSA invites experts from the vegetable breeding sector to talk on the recent problems and potential solutions in vegetables breeding. There will be one webinar every 2 months.

ASCRT - Expert Talk on Crop Improvement; Webinar 2
Wednesday the 24th of February 2021
2:00pm - 4:00 pm (UTC+7)

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

Registration is for ACTIVE APSA MEMEBERS ONLY.
Username & Password is the same as Voting Representative Log-in details.

If you have any questions regarding your log-in detail, please contact
APSA's Membership Coordination Manager Mr. Komsak Kamjing (Bobbie) at komsak@apsaseed.org
 

"Evolution and Emergence of Viruses in Asia Pacific Region"

TIME (UTC +7)        AGENDA
14:00 - 14:05 Welcome
Dr. Kanokwan Chodchoey - Executive Director, APSA
14:05 - 14:10

Opening Remark: 
Dr. Simon De Hoop - Chair, APSA R&D Advisory Group
Dr. G. Radhakrishnan - APSA R&D Advisory Group Member

14:10 - 14:40

Occurence and Distribution of Viruses Infecting Cucurbits in Indonesia / Southeast Asia
Dr. Sri Hendrastuti Hidayat
from Bogor Agricultural University, Indonesia.
Professor of phytopathology / plant virology, expert in horticultural crops’ diseases.

14:40 - 15:00 Discussion and Q&A Session
15:00 - 15:30

Begomoviruses: An Emerging Menace in Vegetable Cultivation 
Dr. Christy Jeyaseelan Emmanuel
from University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka.
Senior lecturer and researcher expert in plant disease diagnosis, molecular characterization of pathogens and eco-friendly disease management.

15:30 - 15:50 Discussion and Q&A Session
15:50 - 16:00 Closing Remarks:
Dr. Seetharam Annadana – Co-Chair, APSA R&D Advisory Group
Dr. John R. Sheedy  - APSA R&D Advisory Group Member

EVENT TIME

COUNTRIES TIME ZONE EVENT TIME
Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria

UTC +02:00

09:00 - 11:00
Kuwait, Turkey

UTC +03:00

10:00 - 12:00
Iran

UTC +03:30

10:30 - 12:30
Pakistan

UTC +05:00

12:00 - 14:00
India, Sri Lanka

UTC +05:30

12:30 - 14:30
Nepal

UTC +05:45

12:45 - 14:45
Bangladesh, Krygyztan

UTC +06:00

13:00 - 15:00
Myanmar

UTC +06:30

13:30 - 15:30
Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam

UTC +07:00

14:00 - 16:00
China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong-China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore

UTC +08:00

15:00 - 17:00
Japan, South Korea

UTC +09:00

16:00 - 18:00
Australia

UTC +10:00

17:00 - 19:00
New Zealand

UTC +12:00

19:00 - 21:00

SPEAKER BIO & ABSTRACT

Dr. Sri Hendrastuti Hidayat
Bogor Agricultural University, Indonesia

Biography

Prof. Sri Hendrastuti Hidayat is based at IPB University in Bogor, Indonesia. She received her PhD degree from University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA and since then she has worked in the area of plant virology especially in the horticultural crops.  Most recently she is working on Banana bunchy top virus, chilli and shallot viruses.  She teaches some courses for undergraduate and postgraduate students at Department of Plant Protection, Faculty of Agriculture.  She is actively engaged in international research collaborations, among others with University of Queensland-Australia, World Vegetable Research-Taiwan, Washington State University-USA and Sungkyunkwan University-South Korea.

Abstract

Viruses infecting cucurbits in Indonesia: Incidence and Its Genetic Diversity

Cucurbits (the Cucurbitaceae family) consists of more than 800 species distributed in tropical and subtropical areas. The major cultivated cucurbit species such as melon (Cucumis melo L.), cucumber (Cucumis sativus L.), squash (Cucurbita pepo L.), and watermelon (Citrullus lanatus) are important vegetable crops worldwide, including in Indonesia. In addition, pumpkin (Cucurbita moschata), chayote (Sechium edule), ridged gourd (Luffa acutangula), and bitter gourd (Momordica charantia) are types of cucurbits that are widely grown in Indonesia. From different parts of Indonesia, several viruses have been reported although little is known on their effect on yield losses. Among them are aphid-borne viruses causing mosaic symptoms, such as Cucumber aphid borne yellows virus (CABYV), Cucumber green mottle mosaic virus (CGMMV), Cucumber mosaic virus (CMV), Papaya ringspot virus (PRSV), Squash mosaic virus (SqMV), Watermelon mosaic virus (WMV), and Zucchini yellow mosaic virus (ZYMV); and viruses transmitted by whitefly causing leaf curl symptoms, i.e. Squash leaf curl virus (SLCV), and Tomato leaf curl virus (ToLCV). However, the symptoms of many virus diseases are similar and it is common to find plants infected with more than one virus at the same time which often causing more severe symptoms. The genetic diversity of viruses found in Indonesia, methods of diagnosis, study on seed-borne transmission and disease management will be discussed in the presentation.

Dr. Christy Jeyaseelan Emmanuel
University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka.

Biography

Dr Christy Jeyaseelan is a Senior Lecturer and Researcher in the Department of Botany, University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka. He was awarded a commonwealth scholarship in the UK and completed his PhD in Molecular Plant Pathology at the School of Agriculture, Policy and Development, University of Reading, United Kingdom. His research interests are plant disease diagnosis, molecular characterization of pathogens, molecular aspects of host-pathogen interaction and eco-friendly disease management. Currently, he is working on begomovirus diseases in tomato, chilli and okra in Sri Lanka.

Abstract

Okra enation leaf curl is a newly emerging disease in commercial okra cultivation fields in Northern Sri Lanka. The present study aimed to identify and characterize the causative begomovirus and associated satellites. Okra plants showing the enation leaf curl disease symptoms were collected from Vavuniya and Jaffna districts of Northern Province. The PCR diagnostic and genome sequencing revealed that the symptomatic okra plants are associated with begomovirus, betasatellite, and alphasatellite complex. The begomovirus isolates shared 98.2–99.7% nucleotide identity with Okra enation leaf curl virus. The betasatellites showed 96–98.8% nucleotide identity with Bhendi yellow vein mosaic betasatellite which is usually associated with Bhendi yellow vein mosaic disease. Two distinct alphasatellite species, Okra leaf curl alphasatellite and Bhendi yellow vein mosaic alphasatellite, were identified in leaf samples with enation leaf curl disease. The disease was transmitted by whiteflies from diseased plants to healthy plants. Hybrid varieties were more susceptible to the disease compared to cultivated varieties.