2022 APSA Field Crops Webinar - Session 2 11 Auguist 2022 / 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm (ICT/GMT+7)

Hosted by APSA Special Interest Group for Field Crops, the webinar series on Field Crops is organized exclusively for APSA members only. The series includes essential topics related to breeding technologies and market deveopment strategies for field crops.

2022 APSA Field Crops Webinar - Session 2
Thursday the 11th of August 2022
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm ICT (GMT+7)

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

Advance Breeding Technologies for Field Crops

TIME (GMT+7)

AGENDA

13.00 – 13.10

Opening Remarks
Mr Rogerio Andrade, Member, APSA Special Interest Group for Field Crops and Head of Research Asia Pacific, Limagrain Field Seeds

Moderator: Dr Venkatram Vasantavada, Member, APSA Special Interest Group for Field Crops and Managing Director & CEO, Seed Works International Private Ltd.

13.10 – 13.40

Gene editing in corn and field crops and latest regulatory update
Dr Gabriel O. Romero, Executive Director, Philippine Seed Industry Association (PSIA)

13.40 – 14.00

Q&A Session

14.00 – 14.30

Breeding and Utilization of Water-saving & Drought-resistant rice varieties
Dr. Liu Guo lan, Researcher of Shanghai Agrobiological Gene Centre, Master Tutor of Huazhong Agricultural University, P.R. China

14.30 – 14.50

Q&A Session and Wrap Up by the Moderator

14.50 – 15.00

Closing Remarks
Mr Rogerio Andrade, Member, APSA Special Interest Group for Field Crops and Head of Research Asia Pacific, Limagrain Field Seeds

SPEAKERS

Dr Gabriel O. Romero
Executive Director, Philippine Seed Industry Association (PSIA)

Profile:

Dr. Gabriel Romero is the Executive Director of The Philippine Seed Industry Association (PSIA). Prior to that, he was the Senior Regulatory & Scientific Affairs Lead of Monsanto Philippines for 10 years. He also served as Genebank Manager, Director of Crop Biotechnology Center and Acting Deputy Executive Director for Research at the Philippine Rice Research Institute. He holds a Ph.D. in Genetics from University of California, Davis, USA, and a Master of Philosophy in Plant Breeding from the University of Cambridge, UK, and a BS in Biology from the University of the Philippines at Los Baños. Among his awards are The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM), Outstanding Young Scientist from the National Academy of Science and Technology, and Faces of Biotechnology from the Department of Agriculture.

 

EVENT TIME

COUNTRIES TIME ZONES EVENT TIME
Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Kuwait, Turkey UTC +02:00
09:00 - 11:00
Iran UTC +03:30 10:30 – 12:30
Pakistan UTC +05:00 11:00 - 13:00
India, Sri Lanka UTC +05:30 11:30 – 13:30
Nepal UTC +05:45 11:45 – 13:45
Bangladesh, Kyrgyzstan UTC +06:00 12:00 - 14:00
Myanmar UTC +06:30 12:30 - 14:30
Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam UTC +07:00 13:00 - 15:00
China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong-China, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore UTC +08:00 14:00 - 16:00
Japan, South Korea UTC +09:00 15:00 - 17:00
Australia (Canberra) UTC +11:00 16:00 - 18:00
New Zealand (Wellington) UTC +13:00 18:00 - 20:00