APSA gets new President, VP, Treasurer and board members Asian Seed Congress 2022 draws 1,200+ delegates as Bangkok shines as tropical seed capital

Asian Seed Congress 2022 draws 1,200+ delegates as Bangkok shines as tropical seed capital

BANGKOK, November 17, 2022: Dr. Manish Patel, Director at Incotec India Pvt LTD, on Thursday began his tenure as President of the Asia and Pacific Seed Alliance (APSA).


Dr. Patel’s two-year presidency term commenced with a handover ceremony to conclude the regional seed trade association’s Annual General Meeting (AGM), held in conjunction with the 27th Asian Seed Congress.

Initiating the handover, outgoing president Mr. Wichai Laocharoenpornkul, thanked members for the opportunity to lead the association during what he described as an unprecedented period.

Mr. Wichai – who will serve as an office bearer for one more year as immediate past president -- observed:

“Here we are at last. The first physical Congress for our members since 2019, and my first, and last Asian Seed Congress as your president. . . I have no complaints,” Wichai said before introducing his successor.

“He was elected by the EC through a majority vote. Though, if it were my choice alone, I would have no hesitation to hand pick him for the job. He is intelligent and an outspoken leader who has always provided the OB with an insightful second opinion or different perspective,” Wichai said.

Dr. Patel then took the floor for his first address as APSA President.

“APSA is owned by its members, and I will do whatever is necessary to ensure that we can serve the members’ needs and address challenges so that we continue to be the pinnacle industry voice in the largest and most important region in the world,” he said.

The AGM marked the formal conclusion of the 27th Asian Seed Congress, which was attended by more than 1,200 delegates from more than fifty countries.

During the event’s Inaugural Ceremony on November 15, Mr. Rapibhat Chandarasrivongs, Director General, Department of Agriculture lauded organizers in their efforts to bring concerned stakeholders from around the world together.

During his opening address, Rapibhat revealed his government’s strategy to maintain Thailand’s position as a regional leader in the supply of vegetable, horticulture and field crop seeds, while working with concerned sectors and stakeholder groups to enable Thailand to cement its position as global leader in the supply of tropical seeds.

Seeds, he affirmed are an economic “soft power” for the kingdom to achieve its objectives.


New board members installed via e-ballot

During the AGM, seven APSA member representatives concluding their three-year tenures on the board, or to the executive committee (EC), were formally thanked for the service to the board:

1. Dr. Senthilnathan Sengottuvelu from India

2. Dr. Sumitra Kantrong from Thailand

3.  Mr. Takahiro Ando from Japan

4. Mr. Wei-Ting Chen from Chinese Taipei

5. Dr. Abdul Awal Mintoo from Bangladesh

6. Dr. Chua Kim Aik from Malaysia

7. Mr. Koh Teck Wah from Singapore

And Mr. Tahir Saleemi as his term was completed in 2021 as an immediate past president.

Next, an electronic ballot was called, in which APSA members elected nine EC members to fill vacancies on the 15-member board for the 2022--2025 tenure period. 

Takahiro Ando and Koh Teck Wah were each  re-elected by a simple majority vote (at least 51% voting yes), thus fulfilling the APSA constitutional requirement to have a Singapore resident and major country representative on the board. (Other major countries leading into this term are India, China and Thailand)

Determined through popular vote (e-ballot), the remaining corporate member category seats were won by:  Dr. Chua Kim Aik from Malaysia (re-elected); Ms. Chia-Hui Chang from Chinese Taipei; Mr Farhan Tahir from Pakistan; Dr. Frisco Malabanan from the Philippines; Dr. Md. Ali Afzal from Bangladesh and Mr. Rahul Pagar from India (this order is not by score ranking).

Mr. John Mizicko of the American Seed Trade Association was also elected as the board’s sole associate member representative, determined by a simple majority yes vote.

During the board’s post-Congress meeting on November 18, EC members elected outgoing treasurer Mr. Koh Teck Wah as the new vice president, and Mr. Takahiro Ando to serve as the new treasurer. 



During proceeding wrap up, APSA President Dr Manish Patel announced details for the 2023 Asian Seed Congress, which is planned 18 to 24 November in Christchurch, New Zealand.

Following the AGM, Dr Patel signed a National Organizing Committee agreement with New Zealand Grain and Seed Trade Association (NZGSTA) General Manager Thomas Chin  as an initial step in preparation for the grand affair.

Also signing the agreement as witnesses were NZGSTA Office Manager Sharon Dawe and APSA Executive Director Dr. Kanokwan Chodchoey, APSA Event Manager Mike Kingpayom, with representatives of both associations also joining the ceremony.

Dr. Manish also announced the Chinese city of Sanya on Hainan island as the prospective host of the 29th Asian Seed Congress in quarter four of 2024.

A wrap up of AGM and Congress proceedings, including an introduction to board will be formally introduced in Volume 29, No. 1 issue of Asian Seed & Planting Material, out in Quarter 1, 2023.