2024 APSA Seed Technology Webinar - Session 1 21 June 2024 / 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm (GMT+7)

Hosted by APSA Standing Committee on Seed Technology, the webinar series on Seed Technology is organized exclusively for APSA members only. This year is the fourth year APSA will be holding this webinar series, and will focus on such topics as Seed Extraction, Post-Harvest Handling, Seed Health Testing, Seed Storage & Seed Packaging.

CLICK HERE TO ENTER WEBINAR

2024 APSA Seed Technology Webinar - Session 1
21 June 2024 / 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm (GMT+7)

Seed Extraction & Post-Harvest Handling of Seeds

TIME (GMT+7) AGENDA
12.00 – 12.10 Opening of the Webinar
Mr Ashley Fraser
, Member, APSA Standing Committee for Seed Technology
Moderator: Dr Sandeep Jadli, Chair, APSA Standing Committee for Seed Technology  
12.10 – 12.25 Harvesting, Seed Extraction, Disinfection, and Post-Harvest Drying Seeds
Mr Tim Loeffler
, Member ISTA Technical Committee on Vigour and Business Owner, Seed Vigour Consulting LLC
12.25 – 12.40 Fundamental Concepts for Cleaning and Upgrading Seed
Dr Alan Gaul
, Seed Conditioning Specialist, ISU Seed Science Center, Iowa State University
12.40 – 13.00 Q&A Discussion
13.00 – 13.30 Seed Conditioning and Seed enhancement (coating, pelleting and gentle drying)
Mr Rajiv Iyer,
Sales Manager International, GTE Technology Australia
Mr Charles Smith, Operations Director, GTE Technology Australia
13.30 – 13.50 Q&A Discussion
13.50 – 14.00 Wrap up and closing remarks
Mr Farhan Tahir
, Co-Chair, APSA Standing Committee on Seed Technology  

Speaker Profile & Abstract

Mr Tim Loeffler
Member ISTA Technical Committee on Vigour
Business Owner, Seed Vigour Consulting LLC

Profile:
Tim Loeffler has 43+ years of international seed experience in seed production, processing, technology and quality of both vegetable and field crops.  He has worked for several leading global seed companies and held numerous regional and global roles.  He has a B.S in Crop and Soil Sciences from Michigan State University and a M.S. in Seed Science and Technology from the University of Kentucky. He led development, validation, and implementation of vigour tests for several vegetable species with practical application on seed physiology decisions. He has led transformational projects in global strategy in vegetable seed production and plant operations with Bayer Crop Science.  He has been providing consulting services to the seed industry since 2020 and is Business Owner of Seed Vigor Consulting LLC.  

Abstract:
Seed Extraction and Post-Harvest Handling of Seeds – Theory
This presentation will provide an overview and considerations related to harvest maturity, the seed extraction process, seed sanitation and drying of fruited seed crops of vegetable seeds.  Discussion will include critical control points involved and the equipment associated with each step from harvest through seed drying.  A brief overview of the pre-cleaning process after the seeds are dried will also be included.

Dr Alan Gaul
Seed Conditioning Specialist
ISU Seed Science Center, Iowa State University

Profile:
Alan Gaul is a northeast Iowa native and a graduate of the ISU Agricultural Engineering program.  His experience includes student work with the Ag Engineering grain quality program and later with the Seed Science Center.  Subsequent work included 22 years in seed related machine development, plant design, and project management with Seed & Grain Systems and later AEC Enterprises near New Virginia, Iowa.  Alan returned to ISU in late 2005 to help manage the seed conditioning pilot facility and work with a wider range of seed conditioning applications.  Responsibilities at ISU include coordinating seed conditioning workshop and laboratory programs, developing content for various industry and academic training programs, and conducting research on seed conditioning topics. agaul@iastate.ed

Abstract:
Fundamental Concepts for Cleaning and Upgrading Seed
Review of post-harvest seed cleaning processes that utilize a series of dry granular separation processes and adjustments to compensate for variations in size, shape, and other characteristics.  Typical equipment varies by crop and production requirements but often includes an air-screen cleaner, various sizing or shape separation devices, gravity tables for density separation, and possibly optical sorting machinery. Understanding the capabilities of each machine and interaction within a cleaning system can help maximize removal of undesirable material while retaining more good seed suitable for intended market requirements.

Mr Rajiv Iyer
Sales Manager International
GTE Technology Australia

Profile:
Bachelor’s in Mechanical Engineering, Bachelor’s in Industrial Engineering, Management Degree in International Trade and Marketing Seed and Grain Processing Specialist – experienced in setting up greenfield and brownfield Seed and Grain Processing plants (mainly in Southeast Asia, Middle East, and Australia-New Zealand). Has cumulative work experience of more than 3 decades having worked in many multinational organizations, catering specially to requirements of the Seed Processing and Enhancement industry. 

Abstract:
Modern and Innovative Seed Conditioning & Enhancement Technologies
The presentation shall be focused on modern day technologies that can help conditioning of seed post-harvest and extraction. It shall focus on how the application of the right reversible and irreversible processes can help increase the vitality of the seed and help increase the yield for the farmers and help Seed growth and Sustenance in the times to come.

 

 

Event Time

Countries / Territories Time Zones Event Time
Iowa, USA UTC -05:00 00:00 – 02:00
Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria UTC +02:00 07:00 - 09:00
Kuwait, Turkey UTC +03:00 08:00 - 10:00
Iran UTC +03:30 08:30 – 10:30
Pakistan UTC +05:00 10:00 - 12:00
India, Sri Lanka UTC +05:30 10:30 – 12:30
Nepal UTC +05:45
10:45 – 12:45
Bangladesh, Kyrgyzstan UTC +06:00 11:00 - 13:00
Myanmar UTC +06:30 11:30 - 13:30
Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam UTC +07:00 12:00 - 14:00
China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong-China, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore UTC +08:00 13:00 - 15:00
Japan, South Korea UTC +09:00 14:00 - 16:00
Australia (Canberra) UTC +11:00 16:00 - 18:00
New Zealand (Wellington) UTC +13:00 18:00 - 20:00