Standing Committee on Intellectual Property Rights and Biodiversity



Session on Biodiversity and Access and Benefit Sharing (ABS)

13.00 – 13.10

Opening Remarks

Dr. Arvind Kapur, Chair, APSA Standing Committee for IPR & Biodiversity

13.10 – 13.40

Introduction and update of discussion on access and benefit sharing of genetic resources at ITPGRFA and CBD 

Ms. Anke van den Hurk, Deputy Director, Plantum and member of APSA SC IPR & Biodiversity (virtual presentation)  

13.40 – 13.55

Background of farmer’s right debate  

Mr. Francois Burgaud, Co-chair of SC IPR and Biodiversity and Advisor to the President of SEMAE 

13.55 – 14.10

Report from global symposium on Farmers’ Rights meeting in India  

Dr. Shivendra Bajaj, Technical Advisor, Asia and Pacific Seed Alliance (APSA)

14.10 – 14.20

Q&A Session

14.20 – 14.40

Coffee break

Session on Intellectual Property Rights

14.40 – 15.00

Update of UPOV membership and member services  

Mr. Manabu Suzuki, Technical/Regional Officer (Asia), UPOV  

15.00 – 15.30

The new amendment of Plant Variety Protection Law in New Zealand  

Dr. Jacquie Broadhead, PVR Examiner, Plant Variety Rights Office, Intellectual Property Office of New Zealand, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, Christchurch 

15.30 – 15.50

Presentation on illegal seeds in Asia

Dr. Siang Hee Tan, Executive Director, CropLife Asia

15.50 – 16.05

Patent and PVP protection strategy for CRISPR (online) 

Mr. Fabrice Mattei, Patent attorney & Head of Patent Group, Principal of ROUSE & Co. International (Thailand) Co., LTD and member of APSA SC IPR & Biodiversity 

16.05 – 16.25

A dark horse emerging on the CRISPR patent horizon and beyond  

Dr. Yoori Kim, Executive VP, General Counsel, ToolGen Inc. 

16.25 - 16.45

A suite of licensing opportunities on CRISPR for research and product development using CRISPR-Cas 9  

Mr. Marc Cool, Global Seed Policy Lead, Corteva Agriscience

16.45 – 17.00

Session summary and closing remarks

Mr. Francois Burgaud, Co-chair of SC IPR and Biodiversity and Advisor to the President of SEMAE